Should Consumers Pass on Coffee?

It’s no secret that just about everyone loves coffee, but as much as it seems like women are the heavier coffee lovers…it is actually the men. According to a couple of my sources, “men tend to drink 3-4 cups of coffee more than women” simply because they crave the jolt. Although we can easily brew coffee from home, as consumers we tend to go out and buy it from a coffee shop which brings me to my point.

coffee diagram .jpg
Men Guzzle, Women Sip- The Huffington Post 

Here in Morgantown, we have a variety of coffee shops to choose from depending on cost, location and taste. It’s pretty apparent that different coffee shops offer their own unique thing, but where should you go? Well that depends on what you’re in the mood for but when it comes to the nutritional value, or lack thereof, you get what you see below.

Starbucks vs Dunkin Donuts:

Iced Coffee – Dunkin Donuts (Medium, 24oz): 140 calories, 28 grams of sugar

Iced Coffee – Starbucks (Venti, 24oz): 190 calories, 35 grams of sugar

Further looking into it, Dunkin Donuts coffee with a flavor added to it (vanilla, caramel, etc.) as well as the larger cup sizes tend to take the cake when comparing nutritional value. Recently Cara has had a couple of post over the imposed soda tax in hopes of cutting back on unhealthy soda consumption ( her post focuses specifically on WV). With this being said, something interesting found according to a survey on CBS News was that “many of Starbucks’ drinks have more sugar than a can of Coca-Cola”. With that being said, will more people back away from drinking coffee and soda all together?

Junior and coffee drinker Morgan Montgomery says the nutritional value that coffee lacks doesn’t bother her at all.

“Coffee is how I start my day and usually end it, I’m a happier person when I’ve had my coffee. I drink fancy Starbucks like once maybe twice a week so it wouldn’t change my mind! Other than that, I mainly use my Keurig.”

With waking up in the morning and brewing a cup or going through the drive thru on your way to work or school being such a habit, I don’t see there being much of a change in purchases of coffee per week. With the average amount of money spent per year being $164.71 and 100 million daily coffee drinkers in the U.S. alone, I don’t see any reason why people should cut back or it being a big deal when it brings in so much money.

After a broad overview including price, nutritional facts, and statistics, have you been persuaded one way or the other? Will you be more inclined to buy coffee and make it in your own home to know exactly how much of what is going in each cup? Or do none of the facts bother you at all and you will continue doing as you are?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Should Consumers Pass on Coffee?”

  1. As a fellow coffee lover I am very specific about how much money I spend on coffee at shops. I honestly prefer Dunkin because it’s soooooo much cheaper than Starbucks. I also have a coffeemaker which makes it even cheaper. It costs $7 at Walmart to buy a big tub of coffee v. constantly spending money at coffee shops each day. I think as long as you limit your coffee drinking and understand the sugar consumption with it you’re fine.

    Like

  2. Mia,

    I’m not all that big on coffee but I will certainly drink one every now and then if it’s super sweet and loaded with some kind of flavoring! The problem is, that flavoring is what makes it so unhealthy; all the sugars and sweeteners make it just as bad if not worse as soda. I usually have maybe one Starbucks drink a week, and that’s enough for me! I’ve really been trying to drink a lot more water and a lot less sugar. Posts, like yours, definitely make you think twice about how much sugar you’re consuming! I think you did a great job referring to your group members’ posts about the Soda Tax in WV, giving your post a local touch. Also, the graphic you included was a great way to keep the reader’s attention.

    Nice work!

    Like

  3. Coffee is one of those things that I never got into. I’m surprised that men drink it more. None of my friends that are guys drink it. Yet most of the women I know love it. My mom drinks it way more than my dad too. It was just one of those things that I tried and didn’t like at all. It sure smells good though. I always tell people that if it tasted as good as it smelled then I too would’ve probably got hooked on the stuff.

    Like

  4. Hi Mia,
    I love coffee! It has been my very good friend since I was 20 or so. I used to be a store manager for Sheetz, so I would drink coffee all day. Even after I quit working there, I would still stop and get a cup of coffee before going to work. In trying to develop healthier habits, I now only have 2 cups in the morning and then I drink water for the remainder of the day.
    Besides the health factor, buying a cup of coffee each day is really financially wasteful. Typical college-aged students may not be thinking about things like investing, but there is a ton of info out there about the financial impacts of grabbing a cup everyday (https://www.usatoday.com/story/money/nation-now/2017/01/11/spending-more-coffee-than-investing-youre-not-alone/96385882/). Besides wasting money, it is also setting a habit that carries over into post-college adulthood, when finances are more likely to be 100% of the person’s responsibility.

    Like

Leave a Reply

